

NEWS RELEASE

Monday, May 5, 2015

Frankel Fiduciary Prize Selection Committee Seeks Nominations for Frankel Prize Honoring Individuals Making 'Significant Contributions to Fiduciary Principles in Public Life'

Washington DC – New York NY, May 5, 2015 – The Institute for the Fiduciary Standard today announced that it is seeking nominations for the Frankel Fiduciary Prize, which honors individuals who advance fiduciary principles. Any person may make a nomination.

The Frankel Fiduciary Prize is awarded annually to a person who has made significant contributions to the preservation and advancement of fiduciary principles in public life. The prize was inaugurated in 2013 and is named after Professor Tamar Frankel, of the Boston University School of Law. Robert A. G. Monks, a renowned shareholder activist, former regulator and prolific author was awarded the prize in 2013. Gary Gensler, former Chairman of the Commodities Futures Trading Commission was chosen by the selection committee in 2014.

The Frankel Fiduciary Prize Selection Committee is composed of:

Brooksley E. Born, Retired Partner, Arnold & Porter LLP
John C. Coffee Jr., Committee Chairman, Adolf A. Berle Professor of Law, Columbia Law School
Deborah A. DeMott, David F. Cavers Professor of Law, Duke Law
Andrew K. Golden, President, Princeton University Investment Company
Mercer Bullard, Professor of Law, University of Mississippi School of Law
Knut A. Rostad, President, Institute for the Fiduciary Standard

John C. Coffee, Committee Chairman, said that the Selection Committee would consider a broad range of candidates, including regulators, political leaders, academics and practitioners. The Selection Committee seeks nominations of individuals whose work in the public or private sectors has made significant contributions to preserving or advancing fiduciary principles in public life.

Nominations Are Due by June 1, 2015

A nomination letter should identify the specific work of the nominee that the Selection Committee should consider, include appropriate support materials, and the name(s) and contact information of the nominator(s).

Nominations for the prize must be received by June 1, 2015. They should be emailed to Knut A. Rostad, info@thefiduciaryinstitute.org, and to John C. Coffee, jcoffee@law.columbia.edu.



Monks, Gensler 2013 and 2014 Frankel Fiduciary Prize Recipients

Robert A. G. Monks, the 2013 recipient, has been an outspoken advocate of stronger fiduciary duties and a prolific author on corporate governance over a long career. Monks was appointed a founding trustee of the Federal Employee Retirement System by President Reagan, and also served in the Department of Labor, as Administrator of the Office of Pension and Welfare Benefit programs. He founded of Institutional Shareholder Services, and co-founded The Corporate Library (now Governance Metrics International.) Monks founded the Hermes Lens Fund, and has served as a director of twelve publicly traded companies.

Gary Gensler, the 2014 recipient, was sworn in as the Chairman of the Commodity Futures Trading Commission on May 26, 2009. Chairman Gensler previously served at the U.S. Department of the Treasury as Under Secretary of Domestic Finance (1999-2001) and as Assistant Secretary of Financial Markets (1997-1999). He subsequently served as a Senior Advisor to the Chairman of the U.S. Senate Banking Committee, Senator Paul Sarbanes, on the Sarbanes-Oxley Act.

Institute for the Fiduciary Standard

The Institute for the Fiduciary Standard is a non-profit organization formed in Virginia to benefit investors and society by advancing fiduciary principles through research, education and advocacy. For more information: www.thefiduciaryinstitute.org.

For more information, contact Knut A Rostad at 301-509-6468.